IRF Committee on Road Safety

  • Co-Chairman: Chris Sanders (Lindsay Transportation Solutions)
  • Co-Chairman: Ron Faller (Midwest Roadside Safety Facility)

In order to combat the growing epidemic of road fatalities and injuries on roads around the world, IRF Members have organized as a Committee to address road safety needs around the world. More specifically, the volunteer-based IRF Committee on Road Safety was formed to conduct activities aiding in the reduction of road fatalities and serious injury accidents using various means, programs and policy statements.

Connect with the Committee on LinkedIn-logo-wide

The goals of the Committee are to:

  • Garner road safety expertise, including best practices and newest technologies, through technology transfer from the international community, in order to prepare and support road safety programs, policy statements and positions;
  • Educate government agencies (i.e. transportation, health, etc.), road authorities, consulting organizations and other associations on the use of new design methods, proven technologies and cost-effective practices;
  • Influence key decision-makers to implement successful road safety strategies/programs, as well as support road safety research;
  • Identify focus areas where significant improvements in road safety and mobility can be achieved; and
  • Encourage a better understanding of the safe interaction between key elements of the road system: the driver, the vehicle and the road infrastructure

Members of the IRF Committee on Road Safety will be able to effect real change in the world. This is a great opportunity to have an attentive audience of key decision-makers who will hear the voice of the industry and listen to your counsel.

IRF Road Safety Subcommittees

Subcommittee on Roadside Safety Features

  • Chairman: Akram Abu-Odeh (Texas A&M Transportation Institute)

Subcommittee on Intersection/Roundabout

  • Chairman: Mr. Aiken Jiantong NI (AEIOsoft Mobility & Road Safety Laboratory)

Subcommittee on Enforcement

  • Co-Chairman: Mr. Philip Wijers (Sensys/Gatso)
  • Co-Chairman: Dr. Benjamin Colucci (University of Puerto Rico)

Subcommittee on Work Zones and Temporary Traffic Control Safety

  • Co-Chairman: Pete Johnson (3M)
  • Co-Chairman: Dr. Ahmed Aburahmah (The City of San Diego)

Subcommittee on Driver Behavior, Education and Training

  • Co-Chairman: Mr. Dino Kalivas (Emirates Driving Company)
  • Co-Chairman: Mr. David Wallace (Traffic Safety Guy)

Subcommittee on Motor-Vehicle Equipment

Subcommittee on Vulnerable Users

More Information