IRF announces winners of 2008 GRAA Competition

For Immediate Release: August 19, 2008

The International Road Federation (IRF) has announced the winners of the 2008 GRAA Competition. This year, 12 projects from around the world were honored for their excellence in the road industry.

Founded in 2000, this program recognizes the exemplary projects and organizations that place this industry at the forefront of social and economic development. An independent panel of judges from around the world with expertise in the roadway development industry selected the winners for this year’s competition.

The winners of the 2008 GRAA Competition are:

  • Category: Advocacy & Lobbying
    Winner – ARTBA for their project National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse
  • Category: Construction Methodology
    Winner – Utah DOT for their project I-215/4500 South Structure Project
  • Category: Design
    Winner – The Louis Berger Group / J.A. Brennan Associates for their project, Ohmi-Ohdori Bridge
  • Category: Environmental Mitigation
    Winner – Attica Tollway Operations Authority for their project Attica Tollway (Attiki Odos)
  • Category: Innovative Finance
    Winner – Brun-Way Highways Operations Inc. & New Brunswick Highway Corporation for their project Trans-Canada Highway Project
  • Category: Maintenance Management
    Winner – New Zealand Transport Agency for their project Alpine Highway Challenge
  • Category: Program Management
    Winner – Parsons for their project Louisville Southern Indiana Ohio River Project
  • Category: Quality Management
    Winner – Resource International for their project Various Projects in Ohio
  • Category: Research
    Winner – Nippo Corporation for their project Development of Solar Heat Blocking Pavement
  • Category: Safety
    Winner – Telegra Inc. for their project Powering Safety for Roadways
  • Category: Technology, Equipment & Manufacturing
    Winner – CECA Arkema for their project CECABASE RT: Additives for Warm Mix Asphalts
  • Category: Traffic Management and Intelligent Transportation Systems
    Winner – Ministry of Transport, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for their projectIntelligent Transport System Master Plan

In the coming weeks, the IRF will be issuing the annual Book of Winning Projects which will detail the winners and their groundbreaking projects. Also, the 2008 winners will be placed on the IRF webiste as the current winners for the GRAA competition where visitors will be able to view photos and learn more about the projects.

Founded in 1948, the International Road Federation (IRF) is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization with members from both the public and private sectors in 90 countries worldwide. IRF promotes the development and maintenance of better, safer roads and road networks throughout the world, using technological solutions and management practices that provide maximum economic and social returns from road investment.


Related Posts